About ACES Europe


ACES Europe is a non-profit association based in Brussels which assigns every year since 2001 the recognitions of European Capital, City, Community and Town of Sport. The allocation of these recognitions are done by ACES Europe, according to the principles of responsibility and ethics, being aware that sport is a factor of aggregation of the society, improvement in the quality of life, psycho-physical well-being and complete integration within social classes in the community. ACES Europe is recognized by the European Commission in the White Paper (Art.50).


EUROPEAN CAPITAL OF SPORT, 1 award per year to a capital of a country or city with more than 500,000 inhabitants.
EUROPEAN CITY OF SPORT, multi awards throughout Europe per year to a city between 25,000 and 500,000 inhabitants.
EUROPEAN COMMUNITY OF SPORT, a group of small cities, multi awards (up to 2) throughout Europe.
EUROPEAN TOWN OF SPORT, multi awards throughout EUROPE per year to a city of less than 25,000 inhabitants.
THE EUROPEAN CITY OF SPORT OF THE YEAR, the cities compete during the year for becoming in the best city preparing a summary file of activities which will be evaluated by The Foundation of Sport in Valencia as independent body.


Same format as the European Capital of Sport but outside Europe starting in 2018 and with the support of the main international organizations like United Nations.
After the success in Europe we export the format to all around the world looking for the best sport policies and practices. Presenting the opportunity for communities to unite throughout the world under the same flag of sport and health for all.

Rue de la Science 14-B
1040 Bruxelles(Belgium)
Tel: +322 588 08 13

Honorary President: Marc Tarabella and José Manuel Fernandes (Members European Parliament)

President: Gian Francesco Lupattelli (ITA) | presidente@aces-europa.eu

Head Vice President: John Swanson (UK)

General Secretary: Hugo Alonso (SPA) | hugo.alonso@aces-europa.eu

Board Members: Anatoly Iliev (BUL), Lukas Vorel (CZE), Nuno Santos (POR), Vincenzo Lupattelli (ITA).

Group Consultatif Européen (GCE):
President: MEP – Andrey Kovatchev (BUL)
Vice Presdient: MEP – Lara Comi (ITA)
Vice President: MEP – Brando Benifei (ITA)
General Secretary: Roberto Pella (ITA)
Vice General Secretary: Alberto Bichi (ITA)